For your weekend

Can you read 10 books in the next 15 or so weeks?
Can you read 10 books in the next 15 or so weeks?

Anniversaries mess me up, that’s all there is to it. Call me a sap, a softie, a weirdo, whatever, but all day today, I couldn’t think of what to write here because nothing seems as important as the fact that today, thousands of people are grieving, again, over the loss of their loved ones in the terrorist attacks of 9/11 eight years ago.

Who cares what is going on with the bickering at the University of Arizona? Who cares if people are thrilled about the recent decision by the ELCA regarding homosexual ministers? Who cares that a homeless guy outside of Rincon Market asked me for money today and I said, “No, I’m sorry,” and wasn’t sure why I was apologizing?

But the day is drawing to a close, and all I could do regarding all the hurting souls is pray for those families, which seemed so small, so insignificant and so I found myself heading over to Roxane at Peace Garden Mama because the girl’s got writing skills and she just won a bunch of National Federation of Press Women awards and reading her frequently makes me think that the small, seemingly insignificant things make a difference in ways we do not know.

And while I was there, I stumbled upon her second page, a place where she apparently challenged her many readers to read 50 books in 2009. Good gravy! For some reason, this just seems like something maybe we should do – don’t ask me why. So, if you like challenges and think its a good idea, join in. If you think it’s stupid, please, keep your opinion to yourselves.

Since 2009 is more than half over, I’m going to cut everyone slack, myself included, and just challenge anyone and everyone who reads these strings of subject, verb, object posts to read (drum roll, please) 10 books before the New Year and report back here in the comments what you’ve read. Kids are welcome to join in. And AZmouse? Tell your son “War and Peace” counts for three books. 🙂

I’ll compile a list and publish it here at the end of this year showing everyone how well-read visitors to TC.com are. Everyone have a great weekend – visit your local library. Thanks for reading and be nice to each other – there’s just too much meanness in the world already. God bless.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 thoughts on “For your weekend

  1. Renee, I feel honored how you tied in the book count idea to such an important event, as well as by your words for me. Thank you! I wish I could take credit for the book idea, but I got it from a blogger friend, Liz from Random Thoughts of a Lutheran Geek: http://lunargoat.blogspot.com/  Want to give credit where it’s due. Thanks for the reminder, too. I need to update my list! Peace!

    1. Dear Downtown:
      I am so sorry about your loss on 9-11. I know life goes on, but having lost someone once through a violent death, I know it can still hurt. Life must go on, it does, but it sucks sometimes. I’m sorry.
      Renee

Comments are closed.