UA faculty response to poll probably closer to 50 percent

This is an illustration of how much reading I have to do for my post-degree teacher certification classes. This is not a picture of how peaceful I am about it.
This is an illustration of how much reading I have to do for my post-degree teacher certification classes. This is not a picture of how peaceful I am about it.

I have a new schedule, and that schedule is: Get all your school work done, then you can do your unpaid reporting/blogging.

However, my e-mail in box is full of professors/department heads explaining how the response to the University of Arizona Faculty poll regarding confidence/no confidence in the UA administration was probably higher than the 31 percent that the raw numbers make look real. (Geez, what WAS that sentence? This is what happens to your brain when you go back to school after a 25-year break.)

So, I felt I had to respond briefly: To all who read this blog, please know I will be posting the interview I had with UA Regents Professor Lynn Nadel, who helped develop the poll and is helping tabulate results, later today or early tomorrow. It will explain how the response rate of active faculty might be closer to 50 percent, which really does make things look worse for the UA administration.

But I can’t do that until I’ve been a good student and finished all my work, which looks like it will take at least seven hours. And btw, just fyi (I’m too busy to spell the words out!) it has now been confirmed to me by people who take both in-person classes and online classes that the reading in the online version is at least 1/3 as much as that in traditional classes, so I am not – as I had begun to suspect – really stupid and slow. Let the readership say Amen.

