#LentChallenge Learning

I’m a week into the #LentChallenge of reading the New Testament in 40 days and I’m only two days behind! Notice the positive spin: I could have said, “I’m already two days behind,” but if I did, I’d only feel rotten about myself. Instead, I’m only two days behind!!! That sounds pretty successful to me.

For reference, keep in mind that I’m using the New American Bible translation, which includes scripture scholar notes. I’m spending as much time reading all the footnotes and references as I am the text, which is probably why I’m two days behind. That and the fact that I had a huge birthday surprise to host this weekend with lots of out-of-town guests and distractions.

DSC_0117

As originally announced by the author who sent out the Lent Challenge, folks are supposed to be blogging/tweeting/facebooking about what they’re learning/relearning as they read through the New Testament this Lent. Mostly this is happening on Twitter, but here’s my four-shot of what stood out in Matthew:

1) The name Jesus was a “common Jewish name”; first-century Hebrew would be Joshua (Greek: Iesous). So, in Matthew 27:16, where Pilate is asking the crowd who they want released, he asks, “Which do you want me to release to you, {Jesus} Barabbas, or Jesus called Messiah?” The footnote says “this reading is found in only a few textual witnesses, although its absence in the majority can be explained as an omission of Jesus made for reverential reasons. … The Aramaic name Barabbas means ‘son of the father’; the irony of the choice offered between him and Jesus, the true son of the Father, would be evident to those addressees of Matthew who knew that.”

2) Jesus, long preached as merciful and forgiving, is shown as petulant in at least one part of Matthew, 21:18-19, where he curses a fig tree that had no fruit on it when he was hungry. ” ‘May no fruit ever come from you again,’ he said. And immediately the fig tree withered.” Ouch.

3) The term “brother” is interpreted different ways in different verses. Matthew 18:21-23 regarding forgiving your brother 77 times, is a direct instruction to disciples of Christ forgiving their fellow disciples who sin against them. It would make one wonder about forgiveness of non-Christians (or, in ancient Israel, non-countrymen) except Jesus has already commanded his followers in Matthew 5:44 to love their enemies “and pray for those who persecute you.”

4) Finally, a verse that’s been co-opted by popular culture and tossed around like a juggling ball, “Don’t judge me .…” and was the basis for the quote heard round the world when Pope Francis’ uttered, “Who am I to judge...”. The scholar’s note on Matthew 7:1 – “Stop judging, that you may not be judged” – is interesting:

“This is not a prohibition against recognizing the faults of others … but against passing judgment in a spirit of arrogance, forgetful of one’s own faults.”

